Stop Sign

Stop signs originated in Michigan in 1915 but when its use became mandatory was in 1966. There are different ways how the sign is usually used, so we will go through some of them on this blog post.


Countries in Asia generally use a native word, often in a non-latin script.


Countries in Europe generally have stop signs with the text stop, regardless of local language. There were some objections to this when introduced around the 1970s, but now this is accepted. Turkey is a notable exception to this, instead using the Turkish word for stop: “dur”.

Latin America

In most Caribbean, Central and South American countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela), signs bear the legend pare (“stop” in Portuguese and Spanish). Mexico and Central American countries bear the legend alto (“halt”) instead.


Canada situation is split, the dominant English parts use “Stop” while in other side on practice, the vast majority of signs use arrêt in Québec

Other Countries

Arabic-speaking countries use قف qif (except for Lebanon, which only uses stop)
Australia, New Zealand and the USA use the standard version of the sign
Armenia uses ԿԱՆԳ kang
Cambodia uses ឈប់ chhob
Mainland China and Taiwan use 停 tíng
Ethiopia uses ቁም ḳumə
Iran and Afghanistan use ایست ist
Japan uses 止まれ tomare
Laos uses ຢຸດ yud
North Korea uses 섯 sŏt
South Korea uses 정지 jeongji
Malaysia and Brunei use berhenti
Mongolia uses ЗОГС zogs
Myanmar uses ရပ် raut
Thailand uses หยุด yùd
Turkey uses dur
Vietnam uses stop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.